Simplicity=Sohpistication

Image“Simplicity is the ultimate form of sophistication.”Leonardo Da Vinci

This year I have decided I am going to embrace simplicity.  Last year is already a blur and I plan on this year being more being more of a “move the needle” kind of year.  In an effort to find the answer of how, I began researching ways to simplify life and discovered this wonderful quote by Da Vinci.

If you stop and think about it, what are the items that we consider “sophisticated” today?  I immediately think of items like the iPhone or Android devices, tablets, and other electronic devices.  If these are used correctly, it can make life less complicated and more organized.  The question is, how?  Which apps are best?  Here are a few of my favorites right now:

Image

Evernote is a jewel if used properly.  This program is the ultimate of note-taking platforms and syncs with your desktop, tablet, and mobile devices.  You can take notes from meetings, create a grocery list with check marks, create an audio or web note and then file it away to the appropriate notebook that you create to organize all of your notes.  There are several uses for this great application and it’s easy to create a template that works for you.  Topping it all, you can share these notes via email or social media.  If you have not tried this as a tool, you must.

Image

Ok, this isn’t an app but work with me. So I decided I would simplify my life by using my calendar more effectively.  I am notorious for scheduling items back to back not leaving myself any time to be effective.  This year, I have decided that before major meetings, I will block at least 15 minutes off of my calendar to prepare for the meeting.  This could include gathering information, determining my talking points, or clearing my mind.  I have also begun blocking off time to get away from the office, typically around lunch, and attempt to stick to it.  During this time, I plan to go and work out then grab some lunch.  Studies have supported that getting out during the lunch break to walk or work out can increase your productivity and mental clarity throughout the day.

Image

This is a critical one.  I plan to say no to the extra things this year.  I have a bad habit of having the best of intentions and overcommitmenting myself to projects or initiatives that drag on my personal and professional productivity while adding several levels of complexity to life.  Saying “no” can seem like something negative, but if you say yes to something, but default, you are saying no to something else.  So, I will plan to say no more to extra items so I can say yes to more things like kids’ plays, family time, and focus on the real things that matter in life.

Like beauty, simplicity is in the eye or brain of the beholder.  Items that are simple for me might be complicated for someone else so you will need to find what works for you.  These are just some of the items I am using or plan to use this year.  What are your suggestions?

About the Writer:

13 - 1

I have a passion for driving results and have since I started my career in banking.  This blog is about that passion as well as the frustration I endures from those who do not seek results or slow down the process.

I have a degree in Marketing and a Masters in Management with an emphasis in Project Consulting.  Over his career, Trent has worked in numerous positions including sales, sales management, consulting, HR and recruiting.  I currently work as a head-hunter and project consultant, while trying to stay abreast of all of the changes in today’s workforce.

For a professional resume, click here.

Leave a Reply

